MANILA, Aug.  8- The Philippine cycling team campaign in the forthcoming 29th Southeast Asian Games suffered a blow when one of its debuting rider figured in a road accident while in training in South Korea.

Camila Sumaguing, deputy secretary-general of the  Philippine Cycling Federation (PCF), in a telephone  interview Tuesday   by  Radio Pilipinas –Sports Radio 918, identified the local rider as Kristian Emmanuel Reyes, top contender in the track event in cycling.

 Reyes, is a member of the 15-man cycling squad who will see action in the biennial meet, which starts on August 17 for the road competition and August 22 for the track events.

Marella Vania Salamat will be defending her title in the Individual Time Trial, who clocked 48 minutes. 46.38 seconds in the 2015 edition of the games held in Singapore.

Sumaguing, who was informed by PCF  technical officials  that accompanied Reyes, who  now  confined in undisclosed hospital in South Korea. Reportedly, Reyes is stable but suffered a broken  hip.

The senior PCF official hinted that Reyes may skipped the competition even as an investigation is being undertaken to determine what caused the accident.

 Weeks now,  Reyes and some top local riders are  training in the Korea peninsula, and supposedly days from now they will be competing in a local competition for their final tune up before the Kuala Lumpur games.

Despite the minor blow, Sumaguing is upbeat, revealing  that “our local riders are all set for the competition-it  will be a “nerve-rocking, and pressure pack especially our  debuting riders.”  

“But the Filipino cycling community will serve as their inspiration,” said Sumaguing.

She said  our local riders will   face a tough challenge from host Malaysia,Thailand and Indonesia.

The Philippine rider team composed of 13 males and two females. In the men’s group include  Caluag brothers – Christopher John and Daniel Patrick,  Mervin Bernachea, Dominic Perez, Geore Oconer, Jerry Aquino, Jr., John Renee Mier, Marcelo Felipe,, Mark John Lexter Galledo, Ronald  Oranza, Rustom Lim and Boots Ryan Cayubit; and Stenna Elaine Fines. (PNA)