MANILA -- President Rodrigo Roa Duterte reorganized the composition of Task Force Bangon Marawi.

The President signed Administrative Order No. 9 last October 27 ordering the change in the structure of the Task Force as he saw the necessity of a full-blown reconstruction, following Marawi City's liberation from the control of ISIS-backed terrorist groups.

Task Force Bangon Marawi is now headed by the Chairman of the Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council (HUDCC), with the Secretary of Department of National Defense (DND), the former Task Force chairman, and the Secretary of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) as Co-Vice Chairpersons.

"The Chairman of the HUDCC as head of the Task Force Bangon Marawi shall have operational control and supervision of the said Task Force and the overall responsibility to ensure that the objectives of this Order are accomplished," AO No. 9 said.

Further, the Sub-Committee on Housing, formerly under the Office of the Cabinet Secretary, will also be headed by the HUDCC, which will be "primarily responsible for the immediate rehabilitation and construction of temporary or permanent shelters, and the restoration of water, electricity, and other public utilities."

On the other hand, the Sub-Committee on Security, Peace and Order will now be co-headed by the DND and the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG). They will be responsible for the restoration and maintenance of peace and order, and the continuity of public services in Marawi City.

President Duterte declared Marawi City freed from the Maute group last October 17, which marked the start of the city's rehabilitation period.

The reorganization of Task Force Bangon Marawi reflects the shift in government's priority in rebuilding and developing war-affected areas in Marawi. (PCO-Content)