SANTA Barbara, Pangasinan -- Hometown favorite Alphie Dagayloan won by a technical decision against former WBC Asian Boxing Council minimumweight champion Mateo Handeg in a rain-soaked title fight for the vacant Philippine Boxing Federation (PBF) super flyweight crown on Sunday night at the open grounds here.

The scheduled 10-rounder was stopped in 1:35 of Round 5 by force majeure due to continuous rain by supervisor Ralph Diokno of the Games and Amusements Board.

"It was hazardous already for the boxers to continue the fight since the canvas was soaking with rain water," said Diokno. The boxers and the ring officials including GAB Commissioner Mar Masanguid were already wet.

"We had to stop it to avoid injury since the canvas was already slippery," added Diokno. Dagayloan won by a split decision after two judges Elmo Coloma and Atty. Aquil Tamano both scored it 48-47 in favor of Dagayloan after five rounds while the other judge Lito delos Reyes saw it 48-47 for Handeg.

Promoters Prince Sy Su, Orlando Borcelango and Lloyd Zaplan of Zaplan Promotions agreed to have a rematch.

The 28-year-old Handeg had a good start by landing quick jabs before Dagayloan finally found his range in the last three rounds.

Dagayloan,26, improved his record to 8 wins, 2 losses and 1 draw with 3 knockouts while Handeg, also a former IBF Pan Pacific minimumweight champion dropped to 13W-16L-0, 7 KOs record.

Masanguid suggested to have the rematch at the covered court nearby the open grounds. Masanguid, the founder and national president of the Solid Duterte Supporters Group (SDSG) D' Original Nationwide and former barangay captain in Davao City, however, still commended the young promoters and organizers for staging a boxing event held in commemoration with the annual fiesta celebration of Santa Barbara.

Also present were Mayor Carlito Zaplan and PBF president Lope Sarreal Jr.

In the undercard, Jesel Guardario won by a technical knockout in the rest period of the 5th round against Nestor Junio; Alapormina beat Robertson Abion by majority decision; Edsil Jungco beat Aurelio Angel by unanimous decision; Arar Andales beat Jaybee Galia by unanimous decision; Ariston Aton won by majority decision against Rod Michael Sanguila; Rustom Doronio stopped Jeson Manjaluna Cano by a TKO in the first round in 1:33; Francis Diaz beat Rolando Plaza by a unanimous decision. (Lito delos Reyes/PNA)