Davao braces for flooding due to TS 'Basyang'

By Lilian Mellejor

February 12, 2018, 8:25 am

DAVAO CITY -- The Davao City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (DRRMO) and Disaster Monitoring Office are on alert as heavy rainfall in Northern Mindanao brought by Tropical Storm "Basyang" (international name Sanba).

As of Sunday night, all emergency response units have been alerted and on standby. Likewise, all flood-prone barangays have also been alerted by the city government.

The Davao City Information Office (CIO) reported Sunday night that Cagayan de Oro and Bukidnon were experiencing heavy rainfall, raising alarm that rainwater could drain again towards the Davao City River systems.

To recall, Tropical Depression Urduja which hit northeastern Mindanao last December, brought heavy rains in Cagayan de Oro and Bukidnon causing Davao City’s river systems to overflow in many barangays.

Based on the latest report as of 5 a.m. Monday of state weather bureau Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa), "Basyang" has slightly slowed down as it continues to track in a west northwest direction.

Scattered to widespread moderate to heavy rains is expected over the eastern section of Visayas and Mindanao. "Basyang" was last observed at 690 kilometers east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur. It has maximum sustained winds of up to 65 kilometers per hour near the center and gustiness of up to 80 kph.

Pagasa has advised residents of the affected areas to continue monitoring for updates, undertake precautionary measures against possible flooding and landslides, and coordinate with their respective local disaster risk reduction and management offices.

Fisherfolk and those with small seacrafts are advised not to venture out over the eastern seaboard of Visayas and of Mindanao due to expected rough to very rough seas associated with the approaching tropical storm.

Tropical cyclone warning signal No. 1 is up over Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Camiguin, Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte, Misamis Oriental, Lanao del Sur, Bukidnon, southern Leyte and Bohol. (PNA/Featured image courtesy of WeatherPhilippines)