Search on for outstanding science journos

February 28, 2018, 1:39 pm

MANILA — The Department of Science and Technology has officially opened the nominations for the 2018 Science for the People Media Awards.

Dubbed “Bantog,” the award is given in recognition of the important role of media practitioners in print, radio, TV and online platforms, in government and private practice, who made significant contributions to the promotion of science and technology information.

The awards has four categories including the Institutional Media Award, which is given to an institution or organization that served as a vital link between the science and technology (S&T) sectors and its clients through informative advocacy.

Meanwhile, the Outstanding S&T Journalist Award is given to an individual media practitioner who has been an ardent advocate of science and technology whether in print, broadcast or online.

The Outstanding Regional Media Practitioner Award is given to an enthusiastic regional media personality who has shown strong support in promoting science and technology information, while the Outstanding Information Officer Award is given to exemplary information officers in DOST working in the area of communication production and dissemination.

Nominees should be Filipinos or Filipino-owned media companies which have broadcast and published S&T information in January 2017-March 2018.

Nominees for individual practitioners from print, broadcast, and online media shall be judged according to substance, form, style, relevance of works and additional requirements by the board of judges.

Meanwhile, nominees for institutional awards shall be judged according to innovativeness, relevance, and commitment to S&T reportage. The DOST Information Officer Award shall be based on his/her accomplishments in print, broadcast, online media, and public relations.

All Bantog Awardees shall receive trophies while the individual category winners shall receive additional cash prizes.

The Outstanding S&T Journalists for online, print, radio and TV will all take home PHP100,000; PHP50,000; and PHP25,000 for the first, second and third prizes respectively.

The sole winner of Outstanding Regional Media Practitioner will receive PHP50,000 and the Outstanding DOST Information Officers will get PHP30,000; PHP20,000; and PHP10,000.

The Science and Technology Information Institute (DOST-STII), the information arm of DOST, aims to strengthen its partnership with the media through the recognition of the media’s contributions in the promotion of science and technology information either as an individual or as an institution, whether public or private sector.

DOST-STII also acknowledges the significant role of DOST regional information officers in helping achieve the Department’s thrust of promoting S&T information and bringing science for the people.

For queries and further information on Bantog, please contact STII Public Affairs Unit at [email protected]  or call (02) 837-2071 local 2146 or mobile no. 09493039998 and look for Ms. Ma. Lilibeth P. Padilla. (PR)