Duterte names 2 more ConCom members

By Jelly Musico

April 11 2018, 7:11 pm Updated on November 30, 2023, 12:08 am

MANILA -- President Rodrigo R. Duterte has appointed two more members of the Consultative Committee (ConCom) to review the 1987 Constitution.

Duterte signed on April 6 the appointment papers of former Philippine Navy commodore Rex Cambronero Robles and lawyer Jose Martin Azcarraga Loon.

Robles and Loon will join 20 individuals who were named earlier by the President as members of the consultative body tasked to study proposals to amend the Constitution that would pave the way for the shift to a federal form of government.

Former Chief Justice Reynato Puno was appointed chairperson of ConCom while the other members include former Senate President Aquilino Pimentel Jr., former Supreme Court Associate Justices Bievenido Reyes and Antonio Nachura Jr., former De La Salle dean Julio Cabral Teehankee, San Beda College School of Law dean Fr. Ranhilo Aquino; and former Integrated Bar of the Philippines president Roan Libarios.

Also appointed earlier as ConCom members were Ruben Canoy, Laurence Wacnang, Edmund Soriano Tayao, Victoria De La Serna, Eddie Mapag Alih, Ali Pangalian Balindog, Randol Climaco Parcasio, Antonio Arellano, Arthur Aguilar, Susan Ubalde-Ordinario, Rodolfo Dia Robles, Virgilio Bautista and Fernando Bocobo.

In December 2016, Duterte signed Executive Order No. 10 creating the ConCom composed of not more than 25 members who will study, conduct consultations and review the provisions of the 1987 Constitution. (PNA)