JAKARTA -- Indonesian President Joko Widodo will grace the opening ceremony of the 18th Asian Games on Saturday evening at the Gelora Bung Karno Stadium here.

Widodo will be accompanied by Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) president Sheikh Ahmad Al Fahda Al Sabah of Kuwait and Indonesia Asian Games Organizing Committee (INASGOC) chairman Erick Thohir in welcoming the 6,000 athletes and officials from 45 countries during the ceremony that will start at 7 p.m. (8 p.m. Manila time).

Lee Nak-yeon, the prime minister of South Korea, will also attend the ceremony that will see South and North Korean delegations marching under one flag.

In a press statement, Thohir said that this year's edition is the biggest in the Games history, adding that “this would be a valuable legacy for the next generation of Indonesia.”

"Starting with a colossal and magical opening ceremony, we believe that Asian Games 2018 will promote peace throughout Asia and certainly strengthen the unity of Indonesia," said Thohir.

Indonesia's top singers, bannered by three-time Grammy Awards nominee Joey Alexander, will perform.

Other guests are international singers Anggun, Raisa, Ariel Tulus, Kamasean, Fatin, GAC, Putri Ayu, Rian D'Masiv, Cakra Khan, Sheryl Sheinafia, Rossa, Wizzy, Rinni Wulandari, Edo Kondologit, Maruli Tampubolon and Via Vallen, who will perform before more than 50,000 people at the GBK Stadium.

Creative director Wishnutama is in charge of production of the ceremony featuring 3,600 dancers and performers under the direction of Indonesia's leading choreographers Denny Malik and Eko Supriyanto, and accompanied by thousands of musicians and orchestra directed by Addie MS and Ronald Steven.

The Pasukan Pengibar Bendera (PASKIBRA), a group of high school students selected from 34 provinces, will raise the Indonesian flag while eight athletes, led by 2000 Sydney Olympic Games badminton gold medalist Candra Wijaya, will carry the OCA flag in the parade where countries will be spearheaded by their respective flag bearers.

Joining Wijaya are badminton players Markis Kido (gold, 1990 Beijing Olympics) and Christian Hadinata (gold, 1974 Tehran Asian Games and 1982 New Delhi Asian Games), archers Lilis Handayani (silver, 1988 Seoul Olympics) and Kusuma Wardhani (silver, 1988 Seoul Olympics), weightlifter Sri Indriyani (bronze, 2000 Sydney Olympics), shooter Leli Sampoerno (silver, 1962 Jakarta Asian Games) and tennis player Suharyadi (gold, 1990 Beijing Asian Games).

Filipino-American Jordan Clarkson of the Cleveland Cavaliers, in the National Basketball Association, will carry the Philippine flag and fencing president Richard Gomez will lead the 130-member delegation during the parade. (PNA)