SAN PABLO CITY, Laguna -- The Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry-San Pablo City Chapter (PCCI-SPC) won the “2018 Most Outstanding Chamber Award,” besting the country’s major cities during formal awards rite at the 44th Philippine Business Conference and Exposition (PBCE) held from Oct. 18 to 19 at the Manila Hotel.

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte, who graced the event and assisted by Trade and Industry Secretary Ramon Lopez, handed the award to PCCI-SPC president Rolando A. Inciong, for the twin feat also as Best Chamber in South Luzon Area (Southern Tagalog and Bicol regions).

As a national awardee, PCCI-SPC was recognized for its outstanding performance as an advocate of Philippine business, demonstrated by its active involvement in influencing policy makers, and undertaking programs for the expansion of commerce and industry, trade and investment.

As a Southern Luzon area awardee, PCCI-SPC was cited for its exemplary leadership and dynamism, strong advocacy programs, increased membership base, and effective delivery of services.

Inciong also served as panelist for the Membership Development Session during the PBCE’s Chamber Management Forum attended by all Chamber Presidents, where he shared PCCI-SPC’s innovations in membership training.

The session was moderated by Renato Simbulan, chair of the Philippine Chamber Development Institute, with German training expert Gerhard Vok as resource speaker, and other panelists - Consul Antonio Chiu, president of the Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Elvi Sanchez Quiazon, president, PCCI-Muntinlupa.

Chaired by San Miguel Corporation Chairman Ramon Ang, the 2018 PBCE gathered some 1,000 business leaders representing 120 Chambers from all over the Philippines, including mayors and governors of most business-friendly local government units.

The dignitaries who graced the event were former Presidents Fidel Ramos and Joseph Estrada, Senate President Tito Sotto, Senator Win Gatchalian, PCCI President Alegria Sibal Limjoco, Past PCCI National President George Barcelon, Transportation Secretary Arturo Tugade, NEDA Secretary Ernesto Pernia and Tourism Secretary Berna Romulo.

PCCI officials included Jose Leviste, chair of the environment committee; Past PCCI National President Samie Lim, chair of the tourism committee; South Luzon Area Vice President Tita Leabres; and Southern Tagalog Regional Governor John Barredo.

In receiving the award, Inciong lauded the officers and active members of PCCI-SPC for their concerted efforts in making the city’s Chamber truly deserving of the award.

The Chamber officers include Bernard Deriquito and Chinkee Inigo, vice presidents; John Lim, treasurer; and Rey de Leon, executive director. Comprising the Board of Directors are Leopoldo Estrellado, Rosanna Pangue, Fernando See, Diosdado Serviento, Jeff Pessina, Jay Alvero, Jose Reano, Sam Bataan and Alan de la Cruz.

The members of the Council of Past Presidents are Sofronio Exconde, Alan P. de la Cruz, Romeo B. Race, Randy B. de Luna and Plaridel De Guzman de la Cruz. (PR)