SC issues designations in Senate, House poll tribunals

By Benjamin Pulta

December 5 2018, 8:46 pm

MANILA -- The Supreme Court (SC) on Wednesday announced the designation of chairpersons and members of the Senate Electoral Tribunal (SET) and the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET).

The revision in Special Order No. 2626, dated Dec. 3 and signed by Chief Justice Lucas P. Bersamin, changed the effectivity date of the designations from Nov. 28, 2018 to Jan. 1, 2019.

Senior Associate Justice Antonio T. Carpio was named chairman of the SET with Justices Mariano C. del Castillo and Marvic F. Leonen as members.

On the other hand, Associate Justice Diosdado M. Peralta was named chairperson of the HRET and Justices Estela M. Perlas-Bernabe and Francis Jardeleza as members.

The tribunals decide election protests in the Senate and the House, respectively. (PNA)