(Photo courtesy of Judith Caringal/Radyo Pilipinas 2)

ILOILO CITY -- Gulliver Clive Clemente of Antique collected his fourth gold medal in the penultimate day of the swimming competition at the Philippine Youth Games-Batang Pinoy (PYG-BP) Visayas qualifying leg here.

The 14-year-old Clemente, a native of San Jose de Buenavista town, topped the boys' 13-15 200m breaststroke event in 2 minutes and 37.46 seconds, beating Victoriano Martin Tirol of Tagbilaran City (2:52.97) and Michael Lorenzo Dagohoy of Dingle, Iloilo (2:55.19).

"I'm so happy for winning my fourth gold," said Clemente.

Celemente earlier ruled the 200m, 400m individual medley, and 50m breaststroke events in this week-long tournament organized by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) for children 15 years old and below.

"I still have one more event (100m breaststroke) tomorrow. I will do my best not only to win but improve my record," said Clemente, a grade 8 student at the Antique National School.

Clemente, who has been training under Binarayan Tadpoles Swim Club head coach Jo Reuel Galindo since he was four years old, has a personal best time of 1:12.00 which he registered at the Western Visayas Regional Athletic Association (WVRAA) last week.

Clemente won one gold (200m IM), one silver (200m breaststroke) and one bronze (100m breaststroke) at the WVRAA, which serves as a qualifying tournament for this year's Palarong Pambansa to be hosted by Davao.

Meanwhile, Ormoc City bet Coby Marcus Rivilla also bagged two gold medals in the boys' 12-under category.

The 11 year-old Rivilla clocked 1:17.84 to win the gold medal in the 100m backstroke event while his teammate Amare Kobe Guardayo (1:28.40) got the bronze. Tagbilaran City's John Sylvester Dequina took the silver with a time of 1:23.26.

Rivilla and teammates Rex Dela Cruz Jr., Josh Nathan Barquera and Allec Joaquin Vizcarra dominated the 200m medley relay event in 2:13.98.

"I feel happy and proud to win," said Rivilla, whose two other gold medals came from the 200m Individual Medley and 100m butterfly events. He is also entered in the 100m breaststroke event.

In karatedo, Cebu Province grabbed 12 gold medals in the kata competition at the SM City.

The gold winners were Enro Nirel Hipulan, Justine Angel Aloba, Nicole Villacarlos, Rhejane Annarie Luza and Cindy Sanchez (intermediate); Edan Kyle Araneta, Nino Kime Avila, Giovanni Ephraim Apuya, Janine Narboada and Precious Avegail Belicario (advance); Jhudiel Olivar, Apuya and Luza (boys team); and Trexie Joy Ogoc and Narboada (girls team). (PNA)