NEW TOURIST SPOT. Photo of Pinsal Falls in Santa Maria, Ilocos Sur which was declared new tourist destination under Republic Act No. 11409. President Rodrigo Duterte signed the new law on Aug. 22, 2019. (Contributed photo)


MANILA -- President Rodrigo Duterte has signed four laws declaring new tourist destinations, including three in Ilocos Sur province.

All four laws were signed by Duterte on Aug. 22 and copies of the documents were released to reporters on Thursday (Aug. 29).

Duterte declared Candon city ecotourism zone in Candon City, Ilocos Sur a tourist destination through Republic Act 11407.

He also signed RA 11409, declaring Pinsal Falls in Santa Maria, Ilocos Sur a tourist destination.

Santiago Cove in Santiago, Ilocos Sur was also declared as another tourist destination of the province under RA 11408.

Duterte signed RA 11406 declaring Mount Bulaylay in Cuyapo, Nueva Ecija a tourist destination

Under the laws, the Department of Tourism (DOT), in coordination with the Department of Public Works and Highways and other concerned agencies of the government will be tasked to prepare a tourism development plan “involving the construction, installation, and maintenance of such appropriate facilities and infrastructure.”

These facilities and infrastructure must “improve the overall feature of the area” to ensure accessibility and security of tourists.

The said development plan must ensure the "preservation and conservation of the historic significance of the area."

Any activities and developments to be carried out in the area should conform to the concept of ecotourism as provided in the National Ecotourism Strategy jointly issued by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources and the DOT.

The DOT and its concerned attached agencies are tasked to take immediate steps to implement the tourism development plan and incorporate the same in the National Tourism Development Plan.

The funding from the act will be included in the annual General Appropriations Act. (PNA)