DAVAO CITY – In compliance with the recommendation of the national Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID), Mayor Sara Z. Duterte announced on Friday the extension of the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) here until May 15.

Based on the IATF recommendations, Davao del Norte and Davao City are still considered high-risk, along with Davao de Oro province that will also be subjected to reassessment.

High-risk areas will be under ECQ until May 15, subject to further evaluation by health authorities. Areas under ECQ would again undergo evaluation if the decision can be relaxed starting May 16, according to IATF-MEID.

The mayor said the city government is bound to extend the ECQ after April 26, instead of adopting the less-restrictive modified community quarantine (MCQ).

Earlier, she said the team of epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists who have been advising the city's Covid-19 response had recommended the MCQ effective April 27.

“We cannot go on MCQ on Monday (April 27); we cannot go against the classification of the national government in the areas," Duterte said, adding nothing will change under the extended ECQ.

“Still, there is no mass transportation. We will apply the work-from-home scheme and the FM Pass (food and medicine pass) schedule will continue,” she said.

Duterte reiterated her call to the Dabawenyos to stay home, observe social distancing, and regularly wash hands with soap and water.

“The success of ECQ will depend on your compliance,” she added.

As of 8 a.m. Thursday, the city had 33 positive Covid-19 cases, 49 recoveries, and 18 deaths.

Meanwhile, Davao del Norte Governor Edwin Jubahib canceled an executive order that would have put placed the entire province under MCQ on April 27.

Davao de Oro Jayvee Tyron Uy, on the other hand, announced on Friday that the province will also extend the ECQ until May 15. (PNA)