Leisure travel from NCR plus to MGCQ areas now allowed: DOT

By Joyce Ann L. Rocamora

June 1, 2021, 1:20 pm

<p>Boracay beach in Malay, Aklan <em>(File photo)</em></p>

Boracay beach in Malay, Aklan (File photo)

MANILA – Leisure travel from NCR Plus to destinations under modified general community (MGCQ) has been allowed, the Department of Tourism (DOT) confirmed Tuesday.

Such travel, however, must be point-to-point only, which means that while pit stops or stopovers are allowed for eating and personal necessities, no side trips shall be made to other tourism destinations.

The DOT added that those below 18 and above 65 years old will be subject to an RT-PCR test before travel.

In addition, commercial flights for leisure travel may now resume, an apparent easing of restriction from the previous arrangement when only chartered flight was allowed.

"We are looking forward to once again see our tourism destinations welcome tourists from the NCR Plus area. Of course, this has to be done with utmost precaution," Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat said.

"The DOT shall continue to strengthen its coordination with our LGUs to ensure the strict compliance of health and safety protocols," she added.

NCR Plus covers Metro Manila and the surrounding provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal.

Other interzonal travel regulations set by the LGUs concerned, or, in the case of Boracay Island, those imposed by the Boracay Inter-Agency Task Force, shall also apply.

"We continue to count on travelers to comply with minimum health protocols. I know our kababayans have been wanting to go out and enjoy during the summertime, but let us practice responsibility to protect ourselves and the communities in your chosen destinations," Puyat added.

From June 1 to 30, the following places are under GCQ: NCR Plus, Abra, Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur and Cotabato City.

On the other hand, under the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from June 1 to 15 are the following areas: Santiago and Cagayan in Region 2, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Butuan City and Agusan del Sur.

The rest of the country shall be put under MGCQ until June 30. (PNA)