Laguna, Iloilo City, CDO under ECQ starting Aug. 6

By Azer Parrocha

August 5, 2021, 9:48 pm

<p>File photo</p>

File photo

MANILA – The province of Laguna and the cities of Iloilo and Cagayan de Oro will be joining other high-risk areas in the strictest quarantine classification from Aug. 6 to 15.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced these new quarantine classifications after government data showed an uptick of Covid-19 cases in Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon (Calabarzon).

“President Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force to place Laguna, Iloilo City, and Cagayan de Oro under enhanced community quarantine beginning August 6 until August 15, 2021,” Roque said in a press statement Thursday.

Roque said Cavite, Lucena City, Rizal, and Iloilo province will be placed under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ).

Batangas and Quezon, on the other hand, will be placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) “with heightened restrictions.”

Beginning Aug. 8, the municipality of Gingoog will be placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions, following the quarantine classification of its mother province, Misamis Oriental.

Previously, Laguna was under MECQ while Cavite, Rizal, and the city of Lucena were under GCQ with heightened restrictions, and Batangas and Quezon were under GCQ.

Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro City were originally placed under ECQ until Aug. 7, but it was extended until Aug. 15.

Duterte approved the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases’ (IATF-EID) new quarantine classification as ECQ imposition in Metro Manila begins on Aug. 6 until Aug. 20 amid the rising number of Covid-19 infections.

Health Secretary Francisco Duque III on Wednesday said they would decide whether to place the entire region or select provinces under the strictest quarantine classification.

The ECQ status only allows essential establishments and industries to operate such as hospitals, groceries, courier, and delivery services among others.

Only authorized persons outside residence (APORs) can travel out of Metro Manila plus Cavite, Rizal, Bulacan, and Laguna

On Thursday, the Philippines recorded 8,127 additional Covid-19 cases, bringing the country’s tally to 1,627,816.

The death toll increased to 28,427 after 196 more people died while recoveries climbed to 1,532,494 after 4,343 more patients got better. (PNA)