57 areas in NCR under granular lockdown

By Christopher Lloyd Caliwan

September 16, 2021, 2:02 pm

<p><em>(PNA photo by Joey Razon)</em></p>

(PNA photo by Joey Razon)

MANILA – The Philippine National Police (PNP) called on Metro Manila residents to comply with regulations as the pilot run of a new alert level system with granular lockdowns took effect in the region starting Thursday.

Some 57 areas in the region are currently under granular lockdown, based on the latest data from the National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO).

These include 36 villages under the Quezon City Police District; nine villages each under the Northern Police District (Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas and Valenzuela) and Eastern Police District (Mandaluyong, Marikina, Pasig, San Juan); and three villages under the Southern Police District (Las Piñas, Makati, Muntinlupa, Pasay, Parañaque, Pateros, Taguig).

Meanwhile, no area under the Manila Police District is currently under granular lockdown.

Metro Manila is under Alert Level 4 of the five-tier alert system, to strike a balance between curbing Covid-19 spread and slowly reopening economic activities.

Under this alert level, persons below 18 years old and above 65 years old, those with immunodeficiencies, comorbidities, or other health risks, and pregnant women are not allowed to leave their homes except for obtaining essential goods and services and working in permitted industries and offices.

Dine-in services in restaurants, religious gatherings, and personal care services limited to barbershops, hair spas, nail spas, and beauty salons are allowed at a limited capacity -- 30 percent for outdoor services, regardless of vaccination status and 10 percent for indoor services for fully vaccinated persons only.

Meanwhile, the latest data from the PNP showed a total of 224,626 violators were accosted in Metro Manila alone for violation of the minimum public health safety from August 21 to September 15 when NCR is under the modified enhanced community quarantine.

A total of 87,729 were accosted for curfew violation and another 15,296 were also accosted for violation of the ban on unnecessary travel for non-authorized persons outside residence (non-APORs).

For the provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal which are adjacent to Metro Manila, a total of 1,153,833 violators were accosted for violating minimum public health standards, curfew, and the prohibition on unnecessary travels from August 21 to September 15. (PNA)