NCR to be under Alert Level 3 from Oct. 16-31

By Ruth Abbey Gita-Carlos

October 13, 2021, 6:14 pm

<p><em>(File photo)</em></p>

(File photo)

MANILA – The alert level status in Metro Manila will be downgraded to Alert Level 3 from the current Alert Level 4 beginning Oct. 16, Malacañang announced Wednesday.

This, after the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) decided to ease restrictions in Metro Manila, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said in a press statement.

“The Inter-Agency Task Force on Wednesday, October 13, 2021, approved the recommendation to place the National Capital Region under Alert Level 3 beginning October 16, 2021 until October 31, 2021,” said Roque, also acting as IATF-EID spokesperson.

He said the IATF-EID also approved and adopted the revisions to the Guidelines on the Implementation of Alert Levels System for Covid-19 Response in the Pilot Areas.

A copy of the new guidelines has yet to be made public.

Metro Manila’s shift to Alert Level 3 came amid the drop in coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) infections in the country’s metropolis.

The relaxation of alert level in Metro Manila will pave the way for the reopening of more businesses.

Community quarantine

Meantime, the IATF-EID also approved the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) in Apayao, Kalinga, Batanes, Bulacan, Bataan, Cavite, Rizal, Laguna, Naga City, Zamboanga City and Zamboanga del Norte from Oct. 16 to 31, Roque said.

Roque said the general community quarantine (GCQ) status with heightened restrictions will be implemented in Abra, Baguio City, Ilocos Sur, Pangasinan, Cagayan, Isabela, City of Santiago, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Quezon, Batangas, Bacolod City, Capiz, Lapu-Lapu City, Negros Oriental, and Bohol.

He added that Zamboanga del Sur, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, Davao del Norte, Davao Occidental, Davao de Oro, Butuan City, and Surigao del Sur will also be placed under the more stringent GCQ.

Roque said the regular GCQ will be imposed in Ilocos Norte, Dagupan City, Ifugao, Benguet, Tarlac, Lucena City, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa, Marinduque, Albay, Camarines Norte, Aklan, Antique, Guimaras, Negros Occidental, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, Cebu City, Cebu Province, Mandaue City, Siquijor, and Tacloban City.

The more relaxed GCQ, Roque said, will also be implemented in Zamboanga Sibugay, Misamis Occidental, Iligan City, Davao City, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Dinagat Islands, Cotabato City, and Lanao del Sur.

The rest of the country will remain under modified GCQ (MGCQ), Roque said.

“This latest risk-level classification shall take effect beginning Oct. 16, 2021 until Oct. 31, 2021,” he said. (PNA)