BACOLOD CITY – Spouses, siblings, parents, and children have dominated the winners’ list for the top elective positions in Negros Occidental for the May 9 elections.

At the Capitol, vice governor Jeffrey Ferrer was reelected for a second term while his wife Rep. Juliet Ferrer of the fourth district also won a fresh mandate for a third and last term.

In this capital city, former third district congressman Alfredo Benitez was elected mayor while his son Javier also topped the mayoral race in Victorias City.

Benitez’s younger brother Jose Francisco won a fresh mandate as the third district representative.

Brothers Laurence Marxlen and Nehemiah Joe de la Cruz of Don Salvador Benedicto won their reelection bids for mayor and vice mayor, respectively.

In Toboso, Madonnah Jaojoco was elected mayor, succeeding her husband Richard, who was voted the town’s number one councilor.

Down south in the fourth district, Lorenzo Suatengco, who substituted for his father Antonio, who passed away last February, was elected mayor of Pulupandan together with his cousin, outgoing mayor Miguel Antonio Peña, who will sit as vice mayor.

In the fifth district, Hinigaran mayor Nadie Arceo won anew together with his wife Mary Grace Arceo as vice mayor while in the neighboring Binalbagan, Mayor Alejandro Mirasol secured a fresh mandate also with spouse Mary Ann Mirasol as vice mayor.

In the adjacent Isabela town, Irene Montilla was reelected mayor with her son Juan Miguel joining her as vice mayor.

Also, La Castellana mayor Rhumyla Nicor-Mangilimutan won another term, this time with her father, former mayor Alberto Nicor Jr., as vice mayor.

Over at Ilog town, brothers John Paul and Renato Rafael Alvarez retained the mayoral and vice mayoral seats while their sister Mercedes was elected representative of the sixth district.

Cauayan’s mayor John Rey Tabujara and vice mayor Anna Liza Soriano, who are brother and sister, both secured new terms as well.

In Sipalay City, siblings Mayor Maria Gina Lizares and Vice Mayor Oscar Montilla Jr. were also reelected until 2025. (PNA)