(PNA file photo) 

MANILA – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Tuesday has finished canvassing 172 out of the 173 local and overseas Certificates of Canvass (COCs).

Based on National Tally Sheet Report No. 7, a total 55,549,791 or 83.11 percent of Filipinos out of the 66,839,976 registered have participated in the just-concluded May 9 polls.

Only one COC from Lanao del Sur has not been canvassed as 14 barangays in the province, are going to conduct special polls.

On the other hand, the poll body has yet to schedule the special polls in Shanghai, China where 1,991 Filipinos have yet to cast their votes due to the lockdown implemented by the host country because of coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) cases.

The poll body said the votes from Lanao del Sur and Shanghai will no longer affect the results of the 12 senators.

As such, Comelec, sitting as National Board of Canvassers (NBOC), has approved the proclamation of the 12 winning senators.

On the top spot is actor Robin Padilla with 26,612,434 votes.

Antique Rep. Loren Legarda is in second place with 24,264,979 votes, followed by broadcaster Raffy Tulfo with 23,396,954.

In fourth place is Senator Sherwin Gatchalian with 20,535,261 votes; former Sorsogon Governor Chiz Escudero, 20,271,458; former Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Secretary Mark Villar 19,475,592; former House Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano, 19,295,314; and Senator Miguel Zubiri, 18,734,336 votes.

Also part of the “Magic 12” are Senator Joel Villanueva with 18,486,034 votes; former senator JV Ejercito, 15,841,858; Senator Risa Hontiveros, 15,420,807; and former senator Jinggoy Estrada, 15,108,220 votes.

All the senators are allowed to bring five companions/guests to the proclamation to be held at 4 p.m. on May 18 at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) Forum Tent in Pasay City. (PNA)