Majority of candidates beat SOCE deadline: Comelec

By Ferdinand Patinio

June 9, 2022, 8:37 pm

<p>Comelec Education and Information Department (EID) Director James Jimenez<em> (File photo)</em></p>

Comelec Education and Information Department (EID) Director James Jimenez (File photo)

MANILA – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Thursday released a list of winning and losing national candidates who have already submitted their Statements of Contributions and Expenditures (SOCEs).

In a statement, Education and Information Department (EID) Director James Jimenez said majority of national candidates in the May 9 national and local elections beat the June 8 deadline to submit their SOCEs.

He said the deadline is final and non-extendible, except for winning candidates and party-list groups, as per the omnibus rules governing campaign finance and disclosure.

"Winning candidates are given a grace period of six months from proclamation to file their SOCE. Until such time that they have complied, they are barred from assuming office," Jimenez said. "If their political party likewise fails to comply, the same prohibition applies.”

Candidates who failed to file their SOCE will be held administratively liable and will pay a fine, both will be applied to winning and losing candidates who missed the deadline.

"In case of a second or subsequent failure to submit SOCE, a higher fine will be imposed to the candidate or party, as well as perpetual disqualification to hold public office," Jimenez said.

Presidential candidate Panfilo Lacson was the first to file his SOCE on June 3 followed by another presidential aspirant Dr. Jose Montemayor on June 6.

President-elect Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. along with Vice President Maria Leonor Robredo, Senator Emmanuel Pacquiao, and Corina Joyce Castillo Felix have declared their SOCEs on June 7 while presidential candidates Francisco Isko Moreno Domagoso and Leody de Guzman filed their SOCEs on June 8.

Felix filed her certificate of candidacy (COC) but was not included in the Comelec’s list of presidential candidates.

Meanwhile, presidential candidates Ernesto Abella, Norberto Gonzales and Faisal Mangondato as well as vice presidential bets Rizalito David and Manny Lopez have yet to submit their SOCEs.

Vice presidential candidates Dr. Willie Ong, Lito Atienza Jr., Carlos Serapio, Walden Bello, Senator Francis Pangilinan, Senate President Vicente Sotto III, and Vice President-elect Sara Duterte were among the list of aspirants who already filed their SOCEs.

A total of 44 bets who participated in the senatorial race have also filed their SOCEs with Senator Antonio Trillanes IV as the first to file on June 3.

Other senatorial candidates who have declared their campaign expenditures and contributions are Jose Manuel Diokno, Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada, Joseph Peter Sampedro Sison, Carlito Espino Balita, Herbert M. Bautista, Francis Joseph G. Escudero, Rodolfo B. Javellana Jr., Alan Peter Cayetano, Senator Sherwin T. Gatchalian, Rodante D. Marcoleta, Loren Legarda, and Leo O. Olarte.

Those who beat the deadline on June 8 include Lutgardo B. Barbo, Mark A. Villar, Fernando F. Diaz, Senator Leila de Lima, Manuel Monsour T. Del Rosario, John R. Castriciones, Rey M. Langit, Emily Telan Mallillin, Greco Antonious Beda B. Belgica, former Vice President Jejomar C. Binay, Renecio S. Espiritu, Teodoro Baguilat Jr., former Senator Gregorio B. Honasan, Jose Sonny G. Matula, Elmer Labog, Emmanuel “Manny” Piñol, Juan Miguel Zubiri, and Robin Padilla.

Others senatorial aspirants who also filed their SOCEs on June 8 include: JV Ejercito, Francis Leo A. Marcos, Emmanuel Joel J. Villanueva, Ma. Dominga Cecilia B. Padilla, Richard Gordon, Herminio Harry L. Roque Jr., Jesus Lim Arranza, Gilbert Eduardo Gerardo Teodoro Jr., Alex Lacson, Raffy Tulfo, Salvador S. Panelo, Ana Theresia N. Hontiveros-Baraqiel, Astravel Pimentel-Naik and Agnes Joyce Bailen.

During the campaign period, candidates for President and Vice President have a maximum spending limit of PHP10.00 per voter.

Other candidates may spend only up to PHP3.00 per voter, but if they are running as an independent or without the support of a political party then may spend up to PHP5.00 per voter. Political parties and party list groups can also spend up to PHP5.00 per voter.

There were 65,831,806 registered local voters and 1,697,202 overseas voters in the May 2022 polls.

This translates to a spending cap of PHP675,290,080 for national candidates, PHP197,495,418 for other candidates with a political party, or PHP74,320,316 for independent candidates and political parties and party list groups. (PNA)