LADY GOVERNOR. La Union Governor Raphaelle Veronica Ortega-David delivers her inaugural speech at the Provincial Capitol in San Fernando City, La Union on Thursday (June 16). David is the first woman governor of the province. (Screenshot from Province of La Union's Facebook live stream)

SAN FERNANDO CITY, La Union – La Union Governor Raphaelle Veronica Ortega-David has vowed to focus on women empowerment, youth development, and expanded access to quality education.

Although David did not elaborate on how to promote these "advocacies" close to her heart, she said all her “plans and programs will manifest through the 'P.U.S.O' Agenda".

P.U.SO. "which will focus on people-centered and driven governance, universal access to basic needs, sustainable and progressive economy, and orderly, sustainable, and resilient component city, municipalities, and barangays,” she said in her speech after her oathtaking, together with other elected officials, at the Provincial Capitol here on Thursday.

“Madali na lang ang aking pagpasok dahil matibay na ang pundasyon at sistema ay nakalatag na (It is easier for me as strong foundation and system were already in place). The transformative governance measures like the performance governance system, ISO certification, for the province to be the heart of agritourism by 2025, all of these I will continue,” said David,25, who is the first woman governor.

She promised to boost the province's environmental preservation and sustain its disaster resilience and response as well as strengthen the health and wellness for the "new and better normal" amid the ongoing pandemic.

David won by 348,269 votes in the last May 8 polls.

She is the daughter of the outgoing Governor Francisco Ortega III who also swore the officials into office.

The other newly-elected officials who took their oath were Vice Gov. Mario Eduardo Ortega, First District Board Members Maria Rosario Eufrosina Nisce, Joy Ortega, Gerard Ostrea, Jennifer Mosuela-Fernandez, and Rachel Pinzon; and Second District Board Members Maria Annabelle De Guzman; Henry Balbin; Cynthia Angelica Bacurnay; Ruperto Rillera Jr., and Victor Rivera. (PNA)