SAMAR DAY. The Samar provincial capitol in Catbalogan City, Samar. Malacañang has declared Aug. 11 as a special non-working holiday in the entire Samar province for the Samar Day celebration. (Photo courtesy of Raul Velarde)

TACLOBAN CITY – Malacañang has declared Aug. 11 as Samar Day, as special non-working holiday in the entire province.

Under Presidential Proclamation No. 25 signed on July 28 by Executive Secretary Victor Rodriguez, the official said the holiday would give the people of Samar the opportunity to celebrate.

“It is but fitting and proper that the people of Samar province be given the full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies, subject to the public health measures of the national government,” Rodriguez said in a proclamation posted by the local government on Wednesday.

The Samar provincial government has lined up several activities for the celebration.

There will be a parade of 11 floats from two cities and several towns in the province.

The floats will be designed based on the locality’s history, legacy, and culture.

Float entries are from Catbalogan City, Calbayog City, Basey, Daram, Gandara, Hinabangan, Jiabong, Matuguinao, San Jorge, Sta Margarita and San Sebastian towns.

Before the parade, there will be a commemorative program at the provincial capitol grounds to be led by Governor Sharee Ann Tan.

Other activities this week include Animal Care Mission, Logo Competition, Mutya han Samar Coronation Night, job fair and Provincial Youth Governance Fair.

Samar Day was previously celebrated every November 10 to commemorate the election of the first officials of the province.

During the martial law era, the celebration was moved to August 23.

In the late 1970s, officials change the date to August 11 to commemorate the day when Queen Isabel of Spain signed the royal decree that established Samar as a separate province from Leyte. (PNA)