Magnitude 5.5 quake jolts Davao del Sur

By Ma. Cristina Arayata

August 15, 2022, 5:53 pm

MANILA – A magnitude 5.5 tremor jolted Davao del Sur province on Monday afternoon, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) reported.

The tectonic quake struck 12 kilometers southwest of the municipality of Magsaysay at 4:23 p.m. It had a depth of 24 kilometers.

Intensity V was felt in Kidapawan City; Davao City; Tupi and Polomolok, South Cotabato; and Malungon, Sarangani; while Intensity IV was reported in the towns of Sta. Cruz, Bansalan, Matanao, and Digos City, all in Davao del Sur; Koronadal City; Tampakan, Norala, and Banga, all in South Cotabato; Alabel, Sarangani; Lutayan, Columbio, Pres. Quirino, Senator Ninoy Aquino, in Sultan Kudarat; and Tulunan and M'lang towns in Cotabato.

Intensity III was reported in Cotabato City; Tantangan, Surallah, Kiamba, and Glan, Sarangani; Palimbang, Isulan, Tacurong, and Esperanza in Sultan Kudarat; Magpet, Arakan, Pigcawayan, and Pres. Roxas, Cotabato.

Intensity II was felt in Maasim, Sarangani.

Reported intensity is the traditional way of knowing the intensity based on reports of people who felt the earthquake.

Phivolcs recorded the following instrumental intensities using an intensity meter that measures ground acceleration:

Intensity V - Kidapawan City, Cotabato; Tupi, South Cotabato
Intensity IV - Davao City, Davao Del Sur; Alabel, Sarangani; Koronadal City, General Santos City, South Cotabato; Columbio, Sultan Kudarat
Intensity III - Kiamba, Glan, Sarangani; Surallah, T'Boli, Santo Nino, South Cotabato
Intensity II - Nabunturan, Davao de Oro; Maasim, Sarangani
Intensity I - Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental

Meanwhile, Phivolcs said both aftershocks and damage are expected from the magnitude 5.5 quake. (PNA)