EcoOil-La Salle wins PBA D-League crown

By Ivan Stewart Saldajeno

August 31, 2022, 7:48 pm

MANILA – EcoOil-La Salle claimed the PBA D-League Aspirants Cup title on Wednesday after drubbing Marinerong Pilipino, 91-78, in the deciding game of their best-of-three finals at the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

EcoOil-La Salle nearly obliterated Marinero from start to finish, leading for all but the first 13 seconds of the rubber match.

The Skippers' only bright spot was a 7-0 run midway through the second quarter that cut the Archers' lead down to seven, 37-30.

However, EcoOil-La Salle quickly recovered and stretched its lead to as high as 21, 74-53, late in the third quarter and never looked back from there.

Schonny Winston led the Green Archers, who won a chip for the first time since ruling the 2016 UAAP men's basketball season, with 16 points, five rebounds, five assists, and three steals.

Mark Nonoy and Mike Phillips each added 15 points with the latter also grabbing 16 rebounds for the double-double.

Juan Gomez De Liano's 30-point explosion on 10-of-15 shooting including 7-for-7 from two-point range went down the drain as the Skippers failed to win it all despite taking the series opener. (PNA)