UP wins intercollegiate badminton event

By Ivan Stewart Saldajeno

September 11, 2022, 11:21 pm

MANILA – University of the Philippines (UP) claimed the inaugural Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championship after sweeping San Beda, 3-0, in their finals tie on Sunday at the Centro Athletico Badminton Courts in Quezon City.

Freshmen Kervin Llanes and Anthea Gonzales set the tone for the Fighting Maroons' early domination against the Red Lions before seniors Jason Vanzuela and Michael Clemente finished the job in the men's doubles match.

Llanes showed that he can be a force to reckon with in the foreseeable future, beating Laurence Alejo, 21-13, 22-20, in the men's singles match to put UP ahead.

Gonzales then beat Dana Navarro, 21-7, 21-7, in the women's singles final to give the Maroons a commanding 2-0 lead.

Vanzuela and Clemente pulled away late in Set 1 and eventually put on a masterful performance in Set 2 to beat the duo of Arjhay Lazareto and Ramon Santos, 21-16, 21-11, in the men's doubles final to seal the championship.

With the sweep confirmed, Lea Inlayo, Susmita Ramos, Enzo Rivera, Jaja Andres, Paul Gonzales, and Althea Fuentespina never got to play in the championship series, but for Inlayo, winning it all should give them more confidence as the UAAP badminton event makes its return in Season 85.

"Makakatulong po talaga ito sa campaign namin para maging mas confident kami 'pag dating ng Season 85. Mas nabigyan kami ng (This will really help us become more confident in our campaign for Season 85. This gave us more) boost and pride going into the season," Inlayo said.

UP won PHP50,000 plus a set of new rackets for ruling the tournament, while San Beda settled for a PHP20,000 runner-up prize.

Ateneo and Polytechnic University of the Philippines were the co-bronze medalists, and both colleges won PHP10,000 each. (PNA)