(File photo)

MANILA – As President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. turned 65 years old, the Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) on Tuesday announced the top 65 government agencies that it will honor for “religiously and accurately paying GSIS premiums and loan payments on time.”

GSIS president and general manager Wick Veloso said the 65 government agencies, including the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, are helping government employees enjoy the hard-earned benefits that they deserve for devoting the best years of their lives to serving the government.

"We all know that loan balances, if left unpaid, would balloon to unmanageable amounts. This will diminish members’ benefits and leave them with little or no proceeds at all when they retire or separate from the service,” Veloso said in a statement.

These government agencies, he noted, are utilizing GSIS' various programs for their employees.

“Pinararangalan din natin ang animnapu't limang ahensya dahil sa pagpupursigi nilang makinabang at maka-utang ang kanilang empleyado sa GSIS Financial Assistance Loan (GFAL) at Multi-Purpose Plus Loan, sa pamamagitan ng pagkikipag-memorandum of agreement (We are awarding these 65 agencies because of their persistence for letting their employees avail and loan through GFAL and Multi-Purpose Plus Loan through a memorandum of agreement with GSIS),” Veloso said.

He said the government agencies are also using the Electronic Billing, Collection and Remittance System (EBCS) of GSIS for faster remittance of the employees’ premiums and loan payments.

Together with BSP, the City Government of Makati, City Government of Manila-Treasurer’s Office, City Government of Pasig, City Government of Quezon City, City Government of Taguig, Commission on Audit - Quezon City, Commission on Elections - Main Office, Department of Education (DepEd) Division of Caloocan-Elementary, DepEd Division of Cavite-Elementary, DepEd Division of Manila-Elementary, DepEd Division of Quezon City-Elementary, DepEd Division of Rizal-Elementary, Department of Justice-National Prosecution Service, House of Representatives; Land Bank of the Philippines-Main Office, Land Bank-Officers and Technical Staff, Philippine National Police-National Headquarters, Regional Trial Court-Lower Courts, Social Security System Main Office, and the University of the Philippines-Quezon City are listed as awardees for National Capital Region.

In Luzon, GSIS listed as awardees the Bagamanoc Rural Development High School (Virac), Bulacan State University (Bulacan), Cabugao National High School (Laoag), Cagayan State University-Lasam (Tuguegarao), Castor Concepcion Memorial High School (La Union), City Government of Sto. Tomas (Batangas), Department of Agriculture-Benguet; Dona Juana Chioco National High School (Cabanatuan), Isabela State University-Echague (Cauayan), Local Water District of Camiling (Tarlac), Municipal Government of Balabac (Palawan), Municipal Government of Bauan (Batangas, Municipal Government of Lingayen (Dagupan), Municipal Government of Magdalena (Laguna), Municipal Government of San Marcelino (Bataan), Municipal Government of Santa Magdalena (Sorsogon), Nueva Vizcaya Polytechnic Institute (Bayombong), Philippine Statistics Authority-Camarines Sur (Naga), San Pedro National High School (Pampanga), and Southern Luzon State University-Lucban (Lucena).

Meanwhile, Capiz State University-Pontevedra (Roxas), DepEd-Elementary Borongan East (Borongan), Department of Social Welfare and Development - Cebu (Cebu), Municipal Government of Guiuan (Tacloban), Municipal Government of Mina (Iloilo), Municipal Government of Pintuyan (Maasin), Municipal Government of Tubigon (Bohol), Provincial Agriculturists Office-Negros Oriental (Dumaguete), Provincial Government of Cebu (Cebu); and Provincial Government of Negros Occidental (Bacolod), which are all from Visayas, will also get the award.

Among the government agencies in Mindanao, awards will be given to Commission on Higher Education-Region X (Cagayan De Oro), City Government of Koronadal, City Government of Mati, Civil Service Commission-Butuan (Butuan), DepEd ARMM-Lanao del Sur, Department of Public Works and Highways District Engineering Office (Cagayan de Oro), Municipal Government of Mlang, Municipal Government of Polanco, National Labor and Relations Commission-Regional Arbitration Branch XI (Davao), Philippine Science High School-Zamboanga Peninsula (Dipolog), Philippine Statistics Authority-Zamboanga (Zamboanga), Provincial Governor’s Office-North Cotabato (Kidapawan), Provincial Government of Sultan Kudarat, and Security and Exchange Commission-Davao (Davao). (PNA)