The 80-member Bangsamoro Transition Authority–Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. (Photo courtesy of Bangsamoro Information Office – BARMM)

COTABATO CITY – Lawmakers in the 2nd Bangsamoro Transition Authority of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BTA-BARMM) are rushing deliberations of 12 reintroduced bills and an addition of four new proposals.

Among the pending legislative measures, the Bangsamoro Electoral Code (BEC) and the Bangsamoro Local Governance Code (BLGC) are the priority bills stated in the Bangsamoro Organic Law as urgent.

BARMM Chief Minister Ahod Ebrahim said he remains committed to enacting the BEC and BLGC by the end of the year or the first quarter of 2023.

“These two bills are being acted upon now,” he said in a statement Friday.  

Through the BLGC, the local government units will gradually receive more powers, authority, responsibilities, and resources to provide a more responsive and accountable local government structure.

The electoral code, meanwhile, prescribes the structural, functional, and procedural principles in the elections of officers within the Bangsamoro region through democratic political participation.

Also awaiting deliberation at the plenary is the Bangsamoro Revenue Code.

Other bills refiled are the Bangsamoro Regional Institute for Higher Islamic Studies Act of 2022; Rights of Internally Displaced Persons of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region Act; Charter of the Bangsamoro Energy Development Corporation; Charter of the Bangsamoro Development Corporation; and the Hashim and Mimbantas Memorial Site.

Also refiled are the Bangsamoro Science High School Act of 2022; Bangsamoro Agriculture and Fisheries Training Institute Act; Declaration of May 2 as Battle of Bayang Day; BARMM Buffer Fund Act of 2022; Bangsamoro Irrigation Act of 2022; and the Bangsamoro Veteran Mujahideen Act of 2022.
Three of four bills introduced in the plenary are the Bangsamoro Memorial Marker Act; Offices for SGA Act; and the establishment of the administrative capital of the Bangsamoro government in Parang town, Maguindanao province.

From 2019 until 2022, the 1st BTA parliament has passed 31 bills and adopted 263 resolutions.

Among the six priority codes, the administrative, educational, and civil service measures were enacted into law.

The 2nd BTA will serve until 2025. (PNA)