The list of Caraga Region winners for this year’s Seal of Good Local Governance. (Courtesy of DILG-Caraga)

BUTUAN CITY – The Department of the Interior and Local Government in the Caraga Region (DILG-13) recognized 17 local government units (LGUs) in the area for bagging awards for this year’s Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG).

“Out of 27 LGUs in the region visited by the national validators, these 17 LGUs made their way after the rigorous process of performance assessment,” the DILG-13 said in a statement Thursday.

This year’s awardees in the region included a province, two cities, and 14 municipalities.

Of the five provinces in the region, only Agusan del Norte was awarded the SGLG. The cities of Surigao in Surigao del Norte and Tandag in Surigao del Sur also received the approval of validators.

The municipal-level winners included Santiago in Agusan del Norte; Talacogon, Trento and Veruela in Agusan del Sur; Claver, Del Carmen and Sison in Surigao del Norte; and Cagwait, Carmen and Hinatuan in Surigao del Sur.

Four towns in Dinagat Islands province -- Basilisa, Cagdianao, San Jose and Tubajon -- were also named as this year’s awardees.

“The Seal is a recognition of the LGU's journey towards good local governance,” the DILG-13 said.

The award, the agency said, symbolizes responsibility for the LGUs to uphold the principles of accountability, honesty, transparency, service and sustainable development. (PNA)