MANILA – The House of Representatives has approved 11 national and local bills on the third and final reading on Monday, calling it a productive resumption of the session after over a month break.

“We immediately buckled down to work on the first day of our resumption of session. It was a productive day,” said Speaker Martin Romualdez on Tuesday.

Romualdez said instead of giving privilege speeches, the House members passed bills that seek to promote the safety of private and public buildings and infrastructure, protect the environment and boost tourism in the country.

The House approved House Bill (HB) No. 5087 seeking to include the National Building Code as a subject in engineering and architecture courses and as part of licensure examinations for these professions.

Deputy Speaker and Pampanga 3rd District Representative Aurelio “Dong” Gonzales Jr. said his bill “aims to safeguard life, health, property, and public welfare.”

The two other proposed laws of national application are HB No. 5110, which seeks to “strengthen the conservation and protection of Philippine cultural heritage through cultural mapping and enhanced cultural heritage education program,” and Bill No. 3622, which would extend the life of the Philippine Aerospace Development Corp. by another 50 years.

The corporate life of the state corporation, which is under the Department of National Defense (DND), is set to expire on Sept. 5, 2023.

The two bills’ principal authors are Pangasinan Rep. Christopher de Venecia, and former Speaker and Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Jay Velasco and Ilocos Sur Rep. Kristine Singson-Meehan.

The House also adopted three resolutions condoling with the families of those who died during the onslaught of Severe Tropical Storm Paeng; expressing solidarity with Paeng victims; and condemning the senseless killing of veteran broadcaster Percy Lapid.

The resolutions were authored by Speaker Romualdez, Majority Leader and Zamboanga City Rep. Manuel Jose "Mannix" M. Dalipe, Minority Leader and 4Ps party-list Rep. Marcelino Libanan, senior Deputy Majority Leader and Ilocos Norte Rep. Ferdinand Alexander "Sandro" A. Marcos, Tingog party-list Reps. Yedda Marie K. Romualdez and Jude A. Acidre.

The eight other measures of local importance and their principal authors are:

-- HB 5167, declaring the Tugonan Waterfalls in Barangay San Lorenzo, Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur, an ecotourism site, by Representatives Afelito Bascug and Eddiebong Plaza.

-- HB 5168, declaring the immediate environs of the National Shrine of our Mother of Perpetual Help, popularly known as Baclaran Church along Roxas Boulevard in Parañaque City, a heritage site and a tourist destination, by Rep. Edwin Olivarez.

-- HB 5169, declaring Mount Arayat located along the borders of the towns of Arayat and Magalang in Pampanga as an ecotourism destination, by Deputy Speaker Aurelio “Dong” Gonzales Jr.

-- HB, declaring the Luzon Datum in Barangay Hinanggayon in Mogpog, Marinduque as a tourist spot, by Rep. Lord Allan Jay Velasco.

-- HB 5171, declaring the Cebu Safari and Adventure Park in Barangay Corte, Carmen, Cebu, a tourism destination, by Rep. Vincent Franco Frasco.

-- HB 5172, distinguishing the Dao tree located within the secondary forest in E. Pelaez Ranch in Bayombong, Barangay Cugman, Cagayan de Oro City, as the Cagayan de Oro Heritage Tree and declaring it as a tourist attraction, by Rep. Rufus Rodriguez.

-- HB 5173, declaring the Guinsaugon Eco-adventure Park in Barangay Ginsaugon, St. Bernard, Southern Leyte, a tourism designation, by Rep. Christopherson Yap.

-- HB 5174, declaring the Passig islet in Barangay Bato, Sta. Cruz, Davao del Sur, as an ecotourism site, by Rep. Tracy Cagas.

The House will shortly send the 11 bills to the Senate for its own consideration. (PNA)