LGU SHARE. Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) General Manager Melquiades A. Robles (seating, center) strikes pose with recipient local government units during the turnover of their share from the charity funds of lotto and small town lottery held in Malay, Aklan on Thursday (Nov. 24, 2022). PCSO released a total of PHP11.788 million for 27 local government units in the Visayas regions. (Photo courtesy of PCSO)

ILOILO CITY – Local government units (LGUs) from Visayas regions have expressed gratitude to the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) for the release of PHP11.788 million as their shares from the Lotto and Small Town Lottery (STL) Charity Funds.

The over PHP11.788 million check for 27 LGUs was handed over by PCSO General Manager Melquiades A. Robles in a ceremony held in Malay, Aklan on Thursday, based on the agency's released statement on Friday.

“On behalf of Region 6-Western Visayas we are extending our heartfelt thanks and profound gratitude to the PCSO for our share on the sales of Lotto and STL which shall be used as augmentation in our delivery of various services to our constituents,” said Mayor Jeserel T. Templonuevo, who also commended the agency for the release of their share.

The highest share of PHP2.176 million was received by the province of Leyte while Iloilo province got PHP1.86 million.

The recipients from Western Visayas included the province of Aklan and its municipalities namely Banga, Nabas, Numacia, Makato and Malay; Roxas City in Capiz; province and city of Iloilo; and Silay City and Kabankalan City from Negros Occidental.

From Central Visayas, the recipients were Tanjay City and Municipality of Bindoy from Negros Oriental and Consolacion City in Cebu.

The municipalities of Dolores, Taft, Jipapad, Balangkayan, Balangiga, Can-Avi, and Borongan City in Eastern Samar; province of Leyte and its municipalities namely Merida and Tabango; and municipalities of Catarman, Allen and Laoang from Northern Samar were among the recipients from Eastern Visayas.

“Maraming salamat PCSO sa patuloy ninyong suporta sa aming siyudad (Thank you PCSO for your continued support to our city). Rest assured that your support will be extended to our constituents properly. Asahan ninyo rin po na patuloy naming i-e-encourage ang mamamayan na tangkilikin ang mga produkto ng ahensya (Rest assured that we will continue to encourage our constituents to patronize the products of the agency),” said Tanjay City Mayor Mayor Jose T. Orlino.

Executive Order No. 357-A mandates that a 5 percent share of the 30 percent Lotto Charity Fund shall be granted to cities and municipalities while 2 percent will go to the province where lotto tickets are sold.

On the other hand, the STL Charity Fund sharing scheme provides 10 percent to the city or municipality, five percent each to the Philippine National Police and the provincial government, and 2.5 percent to congressional district. (PNA)