MANILA – President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has named former Land Transportation Office (LTO) chief Teofilo Guadiz III as chairperson of the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB).

Guadiz’s appointment was confirmed in a letter from the President dated Dec. 9

"Pursuant to the provisions of existing laws, you are hereby appointed chairman, Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board, Department of Transportation," the letter read.

"By virtue, hereof, you may qualify and perform the duties of the office, furnishing the Office of the President and the Civil Service Commission with copies of your Oath of Office," it added.

Guadiz has taken his oath before Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin based on photos released by the Office of the Executive Secretary.

He will replace former LTFRB chief Cheloy Garafil who resigned from her post in October to serve as officer-in-charge of the Office of the Press Secretary.

Garafil replaced former Press Secretary Trixie Cruz-Angeles who quit in the same month due to health reasons.

Guadiz, as LTFRB chairperson, will be in charge of promulgating, administering, enforcing and monitoring compliance of policies, laws and regulations of public land transportation services.

Prior to his appointment, he served as LTO chief and Department of Transportation (DOTr) Assistant Secretary for the Road Sector.

He was a former director at the now defunct Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC) and Regional Director of the LTO-National Capital Region (NCR) and LTO-Region 1 (Ilocos Region). (PNA)