WINNER: Maritanya Krog of Caloocan City rules the girls' 13 and under Criterium event of the swimming competition in the ongoing Philippine Sports Commission (PSC)-Batang Pinoy National Championships on Sunday (Dec. 18, 2022). Krog clocked 37:43.519 to win the race which started and ended at the Ilocos Sur Provincial Capitol in Vigan City. (Photo courtesy of PSC)

VIGAN, Ilocos Sur – Maritanya Krog of Caloocan City delivered cycling's first gold medal following her victory in the girls' 13 and under Criterium which started and ended at the Provincial Capitol here on Sunday.

The 13-year-old Krog registered the best time of 37 minutes and 43.519 to prevail over Maria Louisse Crisselle of Iloilo City (39:12.067) and Jannah Abella of Calapan City, Mindoro (39:16.426).

"My ambition is to become a member of the national team so I can compete abroad," said the youngest sister of Rex and Mathilda, both former national cyclists. Their father is half-German.

Emmanuel Arago of Batangas City won the race in the boys’ division with a time of 36:05.012.

Dashill John Carmona of General Santos City, South Cotabato (38:05.131) finished second followed by DJ Perez of Pangasinan (38:05.214).

In the girls 14-15 years old category, Jacqueline Joy de Guzman of Quezon City was crowned champion after posting a time of 46:48.765. Davine Novo of Tuguegarao City (Cagayan) won the silver medal in 46:48.928 while Mica Angela Montaos of Bulacan clocked 47:43.073 to settle for the bronze medal.

In the boys 14-15 category, Chris Andrew Ferrer of Cebu City won the gold medal in 52:44.492. Brendz Agyn Celerian of Iloilo City (52.44.850) copped the silver medal while Mark Dave Pipo of Ilocos Sur (52.45.069) bagged the bronze medal.

Over at the Quirino Stadium in Bantay town, Julian Lowers De Kam ruled the boys' 13-15 1,500-meter freestyle event in 18 minutes and 10.60 seconds to deliver Lucena City's third gold in swimming.

De Kam's teammate, Zahjeed Isaac Sarmiento, submitted 18:47.80 to win the silver medal while Meynard Geoff Marcelino of San Jose Del Monte (Bulacan) pocketed the bronze medal in 18:58.20.

Aubrey Tom gave Rizal province two gold medals in the girls' 13-15 years old category. Tom dominated the 200-meter Individual Medley event in 2:35.80, beating Saira Janelle Pabelon of General Santos City (South Cotabato), who clocked 2:41.20, and Jhoey Leila Gallardo of Navotas City (2:42.00).

Tom and Kacie Gabrielle Tiongko of Negros Oriental both received the gold medal in the 100-meter freestyle event after posting 1:02.50. FJ Catherine Cruz of Mabalacat City, Pampanga got the bronze in 1:03.50.

In the boys' 13-15 years old 100-meter freestyle, Albert Almaro of Naga City (Camarines Sur) clocked 57.10 to secure the gold medal. Shan Kervie Medina of Mabalacat City (Pampanga) won the silver medal in 57.25 while Pietro Dominic Requiza of Davao City clocked 57.40 to grab the bronze medal.

In the 12 and under category, Marc Justine Africano of Cauayan City (Isabela) topped the boys' 100-meter freestyle event in 1:02.50.

Jet Deryl Berueda of Mabalacat City (Pampanga) registered 1:02.67 to win the silver medal while Matthew Lopez of Valenzuela City (1:03.10) clinched the bronze medal.

The girls' 100-meter freestyle gold medal went to Jaella Mische Mendoza of Laguna (1:05.70).

Noche Veronica Ibit of Aklan finished second (1:05.70) while Richelle Anne Raine Callera of Quezon City (1:07.20) was third. (PNA)