Marcos names new PSC chair, BOC deputy commissioner

By Azer Parrocha

December 28, 2022, 6:01 pm Updated on December 28, 2022, 8:05 pm

<p>New Philippine Sports Commissioners Walter Francis Torres (left) and Edward Lim Hayco (right)</p>

New Philippine Sports Commissioners Walter Francis Torres (left) and Edward Lim Hayco (right)

MANILA – President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has named Richard “Dickie” Bachmann as the new Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairperson.

In her message to reporters on Wednesday, Undersecretary Cheloy Garafil, Office of the Press Secretary officer-in-charge, confirmed the appointment of Bachmann, a former Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) player.

Bachmann is currently the basketball commissioner of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) and chairman of PBA 3×3.

The OPS did not provide any details why Bachmann's predecessor Noli Eala was replaced.

Eala was appointed as PSC chairman in August this year.

Marcos also named Walter Francis Torres and Edward Lim Hayco the new PSC commissioners.

The PSC is the top government sports body that provides leadership, formulates policies, and sets priorities and direction for all amateur sports promotion and development, particularly giving emphasis to grassroots participation.

In a statement, Eala confirmed that he has already stepped down as PSC chairman, thanking the President for allowing him to serve the PSC for four months.

“My brief stint in the PSC gave me an opportunity to serve with passion in a field I hold close to my heart. With all humility, I can say that I gave dignity and respect to the position of Chairman and worked tirelessly for Philippine sports," Eala said.

"Thank you, President Bongbong Marcos, for allowing me to help Philippine Sports rise to greater heights. I serve under the pleasure of the president and I fully respect his decision. I would like to extend my heartfelt gratitude to all our sports leaders who gave their unwavering support," Eala added.

Eala wishes the new PSC chairman well, saying he is leaving the PSC with a legacy of caring for the national athletes.

"I wish the new chairman of the PSC all the best. As I leave, I am at peace knowing that in the months I served, I cared for all our athletes and Philippine Sports like no other," said.

Meanwhile, the PSC welcomed two new commissioners to help Bong Coo lead the way the government sports body.

Coo and deputy executive director Merlita Ibay also formally announced the appointment of Torres and Hayco by welcoming them to the PSC office at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex.

Torres was the chef de mission for the Philippine team to the 2022 ASEAN Para Games, while Hayco served as chairman of the Cebu City Sports Commission. 

The OPS also announced that Marcos named former Bureau of Customs (BOC) deputy commissioner for enforcement Ariel Nepomuceno as the new Office of Civil Defense (OCD) Administrator.

Nepomuceno resigned as BOC deputy commissioner in August 2017 following the resignation of BOC commissioner Nicanor Faeldon.

The OCD, the implementing arm of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), administers a comprehensive national civil defense and disaster risk reduction and management program by providing leadership in the continuous development of strategic and systematic approaches as well as measures to reduce the vulnerabilities and risks to hazards and manage the consequences of disasters.

Marcos also named Angelito Magno and Glenn Ricarte as new Assistant Directors of the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI).

The NBI detects and investigates crimes and other offenses against the laws of the Philippines upon its own initiative and as public interest may require, renders technical assistance upon request in the investigation and detection of crimes and other offenses, coordinates with other national and local police agencies in the maintenance of peace and order and establishes and maintains an up-to-date scientific crime laboratory.

The OPS on Wednesday released photos of Nepomuceno, Magno and Ricarte taking their oath before Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin.

However, the office has yet to release copies of their appointment papers. (with reports from Ivan Saldajeno/PNA)