(Photo courtesy of NCRPO)

MANILA – More than 1,200 police officers have been deployed in Mandaluyong City to secure the 52nd Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) Council Meeting at the EDSA Shangri-La Hotel in Mandaluyong, Metro Manila top cop Maj. Gen. Jonnel Estomo said on Wednesday.

In a statement, Estomo, who is also SEAMEO Task Group Commander, assured the deployment of 1,207 police officers for traffic management, anti-criminality operations, providing signals, civil disturbance management, Explosive Ordnance Disposal/K9, tourist police and other necessary tasks to ensure the safety and security of delegates in the country.

The deployment of personnel started two days before the arrival of the ministers and delegates on Tuesday for the event which runs from Wednesday to Friday.

Estomo said the NCRPO is fully prepared on its security, safety and emergency coverage for the conference which aims to promote regional cooperation in education, science and culture.

"Metro cops are working with other concerned agencies to ensure peace and order in the inner venue, billet and route and access. Early deployment and coordination however do not mean that we rest our laurels in our mandate of securing peace and order in the Metro. Our dedicated force will be alert to respond and give police assistance whenever necessary," Estomo said.

He said that part of NCRPO's security and safety blueprint is the intensification of police visibility in areas of major concern in line with the intensified S.A.F.E NCRPO Program.

In coordination with the office of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the NCRPO said there would be no rerouting of vehicles in any major or minor thoroughfares within Metro Manila but the convoy of delegates shall utilize the bus lane along EDSA.

Meanwhile, the Department of Education affirmed that the presidency of the SEAMEO Council (SEAMEC) will be handed over to the Philippines from Singapore.

Aside from the Philippines, participating countries to the conference are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Laos, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam. (PNA)