HEALTH PROGRAM. Some of the medical equipment and supplies intended for four local government units in Samar province. The aid will beef up the maternal and child health projects in Eastern Visayas. (PNA photo by Roel Amzona)

TACLOBAN CITY – Four local government units in Samar province get new medical equipment and supplies from two international non-government organizations to boost the drive against mother and child mortality.

Officials from the Korean International Cooperation Agency and World Vision led the turnover of the equipment and supplies on Monday for the towns of Matuguinao, San Jorge, Basey and Marabut at the Samar provincial capitol in Catbalogan City.

These areas are identified as a priority for the implementation of Maternal Newborn and Child Health (MNCH) projects in Eastern Visayas.
Other than medical equipment, the town of Matuguinao also received a brand-new ambulance as earlier requested by the local government.

"Matuguinao is thankful to Governor Sharee Ann Tan for endorsing our town to the World Vision as a recipient of an ambulance. In the past few years, we have forwarded our request to various agencies, but no one replied," said Mayor Aran Boller in an interview.

Having a new ambulance would make it easier for patients from the town to be transported to the nearest hospital for treatment.

The turnover held at the Samar Provincial Gymnasium was graced by Samar provincial health officer Madeline Ampatin, World Vision Korea Project Director Jihwan Jeon, and World Vision Philippines Operations Director Ajab-aram Macapagat and field office operations manager Bonifacio Calapan, and representatives from the four Samar towns.

Ampatin said among the focus of the provincial government is the implementation of programs meant to curb mother and child mortality and to provide better access for pregnant women and newborn children to health services.

KOICA and World Vision are targeting to capacitate at least 2,000 community health and nutrition workers in their target areas in the provinces of Samar, Northern Samar, Eastern Samar, and Leyte. (PNA)