7 pugs named 'Boxer of the Year' in Elorde Awards

By Ivan Stewart Saldajeno

March 21, 2023, 5:16 pm

<p><em>(File photo)</em></p>

(File photo)

MANILA – Seven Filipino boxing stars will be named Boxer of the Year in the return of the Gabriel "Flash" Elorde Boxing Awards.

Former world champions Jerwin Ancajas, Johnriel Casimero, Pedro Taduran, Rene Cuarto, Mark Magsayo, Vic Saludar and current International Boxing Organization flyweight king Dave Apolinario will be the receiving the Elorde Awards' top prize when the event makes its return on Saturday night at the Okada Manila Grand Ballroom in Parañaque City.

Elorde's son, Johnny, and wife Liza , made the announcement when they promoted the said event during the Philippine Sportswriters Association Forum on Tuesday at the Philippine Sports Commission Conference Room inside the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex here.

Ancajas, Casimero, Taduran, and Saludar, who all starred in 2019, will finally get their flowers after their supposed coronation in 2020 was hit by the pandemic-related lockdown.

Cuarto will represent the year 2020, while Magsayo and Apolinario, will receive the award for 2022.

On the other hand, Manny Pacquiao and Nonito Donaire will be formally inducted to the Elorde Awards Hall of Fame also on Saturday night.

Like Ancajas, Casimero, Taduran, and Saludar, Pacquiao and Donaire were also supposed to get their honors in 2020 only for the said edition to be canceled due to the pandemic.

Liza Elorde said Pacquiao will also be given a special award for continuing to advocate boxing even if he has long been retired already.

Among the other awards to be presented are the Promoter of the Year and Fight of the Year citations as well as special awards in the professional and even the Olympic-style boxing ranks.

As an appetizer to the awards night, seven bouts are scheduled to take place as well at Okada Manila.

In the main event, Giemel Magramo battles Sanchai Yotboon for the WBO global flyweight title, a secondary belt to the world championship in the 112-pound division.

Magramo's brother, Arvin, challenges fellow Filipino Joel Lino for the WBO oriental light flyweight title, while Albert Francisco and Yang Chengcheng collide for the WBO oriental youth flyweight championship in two of the other scheduled clashes. (PNA)