LASTING PEACE, DEVELOPMENT. The five governors of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) convene to create the BARMM Governors Caucus after a dialogue in Cagayan de Oro City on Tuesday (June 6, 2023). The group's primary aim is to foster lasting peace and encourage economic development in the respective provinces of BARMM. (Photo courtesy of Lanao del Sur PIO)

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – The five governors of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) have formed a caucus to sustain peace and economic development between their respective provinces.

In a statement Wednesday, Lanao del Sur Governor Mamintal Adiong Jr. said the BARMM Governors Caucus was the result of the dialogue between the five provinces held in this city on Tuesday.

The dialogue, Adiong said, brought out different issues each province was facing.

"We are open to collaborating with stakeholders who share similar advocacies and are eager to explore common grounds with others to attain sustainable peace and development in the (Bangsamoro) region," he said.

One of the objectives of the alliance is to ensure effective law enforcement and to expedite the decommissioning process of former armed militants who have become part of BARMM as a result of the ratification of the Bangsamoro Organic Law.

Adiong said the initiative will also advocate for the equitable allocation of public funds and greater representation, and participation of citizens in governance across diverse geographical political, and ethnic groups in the region.

The other governors who joined Adiong in the assembly were Mariam Mangudadatu of Maguindanao del Sur, Sakur Tan of Sulu, Jim Hataman Salliman of Basilan, and Yshmael Sali of Tawi-Tawi. (PNA)