PBBM names Mike Planas new PHLPost chair

June 11, 2024, 9:53 pm Updated on June 11, 2024, 9:59 pm

<p>Philippine Postal Corporation chair Mike Planas (center) <em>(PHLPost photo)</em></p>

Philippine Postal Corporation chair Mike Planas (center) (PHLPost photo)

MANILA – President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has appointed Mike Planas as chair of the Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost).

In a news release on Tuesday, the PHLPost said the former multiterm Quezon City councilor is committed to revitalize and upgrade the postal service and to lead in its journey towards digital transformation.

Under his leadership, PHLPost is envisioned to expand to other business lines such as e-commerce, warehouse facilities and logistics to better meet the evolving demands of the Filipino public.

“Pakinggan natin ang kailangan ng mga Pilipino (Let’s listen to the needs of the Filipinos), and let’s serve them with gravitas,” Planas said.

Planas seeks to foster effective collaboration among PHLPost officials, employees and stakeholders.

The restoration of the Manila Central Post Office building at Liwasang Bonifacio is also part of his agenda as the new chair and he is in full support of the efforts to rebuild the fire-hit iconic building.

The Bureau of Fire Protection ruled that the fire that gutted the historic building on May 21, 2023 was purely accidental, caused by car batteries that exploded near where office supplies, thinners and paint cans where piled.

Planas was a former consultant to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and created FLAG, the FAO’s legislative arm adopted worldwide.

He studied Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy major in mathematics at the University of the Philippines-Diliman, and Campaign Management at the American University in Washington, D.C.

Planas took up Masters in Public Administration at the University of Batangas and Asian Institute of Management major in Development Management.

He is the current president of the Rotary Club of Quezon City Circle and chair of the Quezon City Councilors Foundation Inc.

He is also a National Movement of Young Legislators alumni, founding member, secretary general and vice chair. (PR)