DOTr to start building 6 stations under PNR Clark Phase 1 Project

By Aerol John Pateña

May 17 2019, 9:41 pm

MANILA -- The Department of Transportation (DOTr) will start on Monday the construction of six stations under the Tutuban to Bocaue segment of the North-South Commuter Railway (NSCR) Project.

In a statement Friday, the DOTr said the stations that will be built are Solis, Caloocan, Valenzuela, Meycauayan, Marilao and Bocaue which comprises the first package of the Philippine National Railways (PNR) Clark Phase 1.

“The six stations will be built following the signing of the contract for the civil works of the PNR Clark Phase 1,” said the DOTr.

Assistant Secretary for Communications Goddes Hope Libiran stated in an earlier interview that the DOTr has awarded to the consortium of DMCI Holdings Inc. and a Japanese firm the first construction package of the PNR Clark Phase 1 Project.

Its second package, which runs from Bocaue to Malolos, was awarded to the consortium of Sumitomo-Mitsui Construction Co. Ltd. last January.

The civil works and building components of the project have two contract packages: the first covers elevated structures, seven stations and a depot while the second includes elevated structures and three stations.

The groundbreaking of the PNR Clark Phase 1 Project was held last February 15 in Malolos, Bulacan.

The project involves a 38-kilometer rail line from Tutuban in Manila to Malolos in the province of Bulacan, which is seen to serve around 340,000 passengers daily once it starts operations in 2021.

The DOTr expects travel time from Manila to Bulacan to be reduced by around 35 minutes from the current 1.5 hours

The 147-kilometer NSCR Project estimated to cost around PHP 777.55 billion will have 36 stations from Clark International Airport to Calamba, Laguna.

The railway project will connect PNR Clark Phase 1 (Tutuban-Malolos) PNR Clark Phase 2 (Malolos-Clark) and the PNR Calamba Project, which will run from Manila to Calamba.

It will also link with existing railway lines LRT-1, LRT-2, MRT-3 and the Metro Manila Subway. (PNA)