Metro Manila stays under alert level 4 until Oct. 15

By Azer Parrocha

September 30, 2021, 10:55 pm

<p>Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque <em>(File photo)</em></p>

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque (File photo)

MANILA – Metro Manila will stay under Alert Level 4 until Oct. 15 despite a drop in the Covid-19 reproduction rate in the region, Malacañang said on Thursday.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has extended the pilot implementation of the Alert Levels System in Metro Manila.

To revive the economy, the IATF expanded by an additional 10 percent the allowable indoor capacities of dine-in services, in-person religious services, and personal care services in areas under Alert Level 4 for fully vaccinated individuals.

The reopening of fitness studios and gyms at a limited 20 percent capacity for fully vaccinated individuals was also approved, provided that all gym workers should also be fully vaccinated.

Both clients and service providers must also wear face masks at all times and no group activities will be allowed.

An additional venue capacity of 10 percent beyond the prescribed venue or seating capacity was also greenlit for establishments allowed to operate under Alert Level 4, which have been awarded the Safety Seal Certification.

Quarantine classifications

Meanwhile, the IATF also finalized the community quarantine classifications for the month of October.

Apayao, Kalinga, Batanes, Bataan, Bulacan, Cavite, Lucena City, Rizal, Laguna, Naga City, and Iloilo Province were placed under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from Oct. 1 to 15.

Abra, Baguio City, Ilocos Sur, Pangasinan, Cagayan, Isabela, City of Santiago, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Quezon, Batangas, Bacolod City, Capiz, Iloilo City, Lapu-Lapu City, Negros Oriental, Bohol, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental, Davao del Norte, Davao Occidental, Butuan City, and Surigao del Sur were placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions from Oct. 1 to 31.

Davao de Oro will also be under GCQ with heightened restrictions but only from Oct. 1 to 15.

Under GCQ from Oct. 1-31 are Ilocos Norte, Dagupan City, Benguet, Ifugao, Tarlac, Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa, Albay, and Camarines Norte for Luzon.

Aklan, Antique, Guimaras, Negros Occidental, Cebu City, Cebu Province, Mandaue City, Siquijor, and Tacloban City will also be under GCQ.

The same classification was placed over Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City, Misamis Occidental, Iligan City, Davao City, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Cotabato City, and Lanao del Sur.

The rest of the Philippines will be under the least restrictive modified general community quarantine (MGCQ). (PNA)