Senate bets Panelo, Langit concede defeat

By Ruth Abbey Gita-Carlos

May 10, 2022, 2:28 pm

<p>(L-R) Senatorial aspirants Rodante Marcoleta, Robin Padilla, Salvador Panelo, Rey Langit, and Greco Belgica (File photo)</p>

(L-R) Senatorial aspirants Rodante Marcoleta, Robin Padilla, Salvador Panelo, Rey Langit, and Greco Belgica (File photo)

MANILA – Senatorial aspirants Salvador Panelo and Rey Langit on Tuesday acknowledged their defeat in this year’s elections.

This, after partial and unofficial count of the poll results showed that Panelo and Langit failed to enter the top 12 of the senatorial race.

“The people have spoken, and it behooves everyone to accept the verdict,” Panelo said in a press statement. “From the bottom of our hearts, thank you so much to those who believed in our candidacy and advocacies. We are proud to have your support, and you inspire us to deliver on our promises in another capacity.”

Langit, in a separate statement, thanked the people who believed in him and supported his candidacy.

“Ang inyong involvement sa ating halalan ay nagsilbing inspirasyon namin upang ipagpatuloy pa ang aming hangaring maglingkod sa Bayan. Ang lahat nang ito ay para sa ating mamamayang Filipino at sa ating minamahal na Inang Bayan (Your involvement in our elections serves as an inspiration for us to pursue our goal to serve the country. We did this for our fellow Filipinos and our country),” he said. “Makakaasa kayo na sa anumang laban, kasangga mo ang Langit (You can expect that I will always be here).”

Panelo and Langit belonged to the so-called “Solid 5” senatorial candidates of the ruling party, the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban).

The other PDP-Laban senatorial bets include Robin Padilla, Greco Belgica, and Astra Pimentel.

Padilla emerged as the top pick among all the senatorial candidates, while the four remaining PDP-Laban senatorial hopefuls failed to be part of the Senate’s “Magic 12,” based on the unofficial tally of votes released by the Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV).

Panelo and Langit congratulated Padilla for his apparent victory in the senatorial elections.

They also expressed support for the UniTeam presidential-vice presidential tandem of former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and Davao City Mayor Sara “Inday” Duterte who are leading the presidential and vice presidential derbies, according to the partial and unofficial count of votes.

“Congratulations to our next set of leaders led by Bongbong Marcos, Sara Duterte, and Robin Padilla! It was a pleasure and honor to campaign with and for you! May you repay the record mandate given to you with unparalleled service to the Filipino,” Panelo said.

Langit vowed that he would continue to give his support for the winning candidates, despite his defeat.

Panelo likewise called for unity to ensure the country’s “glorious future.”

“We cannot continue the political schism that is so disruptive and divisive. The call of the times is unity of all forces to make this country rise from the ashes of the pandemic that brought down our economy to its knees,” he said. (PNA)