STANDBY. Passengers bound for Catanduanes and Masbate and some areas in the Visayas and Mindanao regions are stranded at Matnog Port in Sorsogon on Sunday (Sept. 25, 2022). A no sail policy is in effect due to the threat of Super Typhoon Karding. (Courtesy of Achilles Galindo-PPA Matnog)

LEGAZPI CITY – At least 571 travelers bound for the provinces of Catanduanes and Masbate and some areas in the Visayas and Mindanao regions were stranded at major ports in Bicol on Sunday as the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG) enforced a "no sailing policy" due to Super Typhoon Karding.

Gremil Alexis Nas, Office of Civil Defense-Bicol (OCD-5) spokesperson, said in a statement that 89 rolling cargoes and 12 sea vessels were likewise stranded, mostly in the port of Matnog in Sorsogon, while at least three sea vessels took shelter in the ports of Pilar and Pasacao.

Nas said forced evacuation of all vulnerable population has been ordered.

The Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (RDRRMC) has placed all disaster response offices on red alert status as of Saturday night.

"Clusters should regularly report to RDRRMC Emergency Operations Center," read a memorandum issued by OCD-5 Director Claudio Yucot.

Due to possible interruption of electricity, mobile, and internet connections, provincial and local DRRM councils are advised to explore all means of communicating advisories.

Meanwhile, the Albay provincial disaster risk reduction and management council warned fisherfolk in coastal villages of the province not to go out.

Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal No. 5 is up in Polillo Islands and the extreme northern portion of Quezon (the northern and central portions of General Nakar, and the northeastern portion of Infanta) as of 11 a.m.

The northern portion of Camarines Norte (Vinzons, Paracale, Jose Panganiban, Capalonga) is under Signal No. 3; while the rest of Camarines Norte, northern portion of Camarines Sur (Del Gallego, Ragay, Lupi, Sipocot, Libmanan, Pamplona, Pasacao, San Fernando, Pili, Minalabac, Ocampo, Tigaon, Cabusao, Magarao, Gainza, Canaman, Camaligan, Milaor, Naga City, Bombon, Calabanga, Tinambac, Siruma, Goa, Lagonoy, San Jose, Garchitorena, Presentacion, Caramoan, Sagñay), and Catanduanes are under Signal No. 2.

The rest of Camarines Sur, Albay, Sorsogon, Burias Island, and Ticao Island are under Signal No. 1. (PNA)