Premier Volleyball League All-Filipino Conference starts Oct.15

By Jean Malanum

October 4, 2023, 7:00 pm

MANILA – The Premier Volleyball League (PVL) All-Filipino Conference featuring a record 12 teams will unfold on October 15 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Four-time champion Creamline, which lost to guest Kurashiki of Japan in the Invitational Conference final last July, will take on Choco Mucho in the main game at 7 p.m.

Without Jia de Guzman, who signed up with Denson Airybees in the Japan V.League, the Cool Smashers will have to bank on Kyle Negrito, Tots Carlos, Jema Galanza, Alyssa Valdez, Ced Domingo and Michelle Gumabao.

Carrying the fight for Choco Mucho are Sisi Rondina, Kat Tolentino, Maddie Madayag, Des Cheng, Isa Molde, Bea de Leon and Aduka Ogunsanya.

Other matches will pit newcomer Nxled against Gerflor, which debuted in the last Invitational Conference, at 3 p.m. and PLDT against Cignal at 5 p.m.

Camille Kal, Lycha Ebon, Chiara Permentilla, Jhoana Maraguinot, Camille Victoria and Krich Macasla will lead the Nxlex Chameleons, while the Gerflor Defenders will depend on Janine Navarro, Rapril Aguilar, Justine Dorog, Alyssa Bertolano and Angelie Jingco.

Mika Reyes, Mean Mendrez, Julianne Samonte, Erica Santos, Michelle Morente and Rhea Dimaculangan will spearhead the PLDT High Speed Hitters, who are expected to face a strong challenge from the HD Spikers bannered by Rachel Daquis, Roselyn Doria, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Ces Molina and Vanie Gandler.

Scheduled to play on Oct. 17 are Chery Tiggo against Farm Fresh (3 p.m.), F2 Logistics against Akari (5 p.m.) and Petro Gazz against newcomer Galeries (7 p.m.). (PNA)