NorMin police to deploy 2.2K troops, civilian multipliers for 'Undas'

By Alexander Lopez and Nef Luczon

October 31, 2023, 8:22 pm

OZAMIZ CITY, Misamis Occidental – The Police Regional in Northern Mindanao Region (PRO-10) said Tuesday it was set to deploy 2,294 police and civilian groups for the “Undas” observance this year.

Brig. Gen. Ricardo Layug Jr., PRO-10 acting director, said the deployment consists of 1,260 police force, 365 augmented police groups from various units, and 669 members from advocacy groups.

“We will also intensify our security measures, including providing information to the public to help them avoid violating ordinances,” Layug said.

“Undas," or the annual observance for Filipinos to visit graveyards in remembrance of their dead loved ones, is a two-day religious holiday known as All Soul and All Saints Days that falls on Nov. 1 and 2, respectively.

Layug said the deployed personnel will be strategically stationed in the cemeteries, major thoroughfares, transportation hubs, places of convergence, and tourist destinations.

Caraga Region 'Lakbay Alalay'

In Caraga Region, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH-13) activated the “Lakbay Alalay” motorist assistance team stations in the different strategic locations in the five provinces.

Connie Calo of the information office of DPWD-13 said the stations will provide the needed assistance to motorists and travelers who will be coming home to the provinces to visit their departed loved ones.

In Butuan City, two response teams are on standby at the Guingona Park and at the City Sports Complex, while three stations were also set up in Agusan del Norte area, particularly at the Surigao-Agusan Road in Cabadbaran City, in Buenavista town, and at the DPWH Engineering District in the area.

Four stations were also established on the Agusan-Davao Highway in Agusan del Sur, particularly in the areas of Sibagat, Prosperidad, San Francisco, and Trento.

In Surigao del Norte, three stations will also be manned particularly on Surigao-Ipil-Lipata Road in Barangay Luna, Surigao City; the Gov. Jose Sering Road also in Surigao City; and at the Junction of Bad-as Road in the town of Placer.

Similarly, three stations were also set up in Siargao Island that would cover the road networks in the towns of Dapa, General Luna, and Del Carmen.

In Dinagat Islands, three stations were established to cover the major roads in the towns of Tubajon, Libjo, and Dinagat.

A total of six assistance stations will also cover the stretch of the Surigao-Davao Coastal Road in Surigao del Sur, particularly in the towns of Cantilan, Bayabas, Lianga, and Bislig City. (PNA)