Comelec disqualifies 39 BSKE candidates

By Ferdinand Patinio

November 16, 2023, 8:16 pm

MANILA – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has disqualified 39 candidates in the Oct. 30 Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections (BSKE).

Data released by the poll body on Thursday showed that the village and youth poll bets were disqualified for premature campaigning and vote buying, among others.

"In line with the commitment of the Commission to immediately resolve and dispose all disqualification cases in relation to the Oct. 30, 2023 Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections (2023 BSKE), the Comelec hereby informs the public that the following 2023 BSKE candidates are disqualified," it said.

Of the total, 29 were disqualified due to premature campaigning activities, while four were cases of cancellation of Certificates of Candidacy (COCs).

Six cases were due to vote buying, nuisance candidates, and disqualification.

As for the village polls, seven of those disqualified were candidates for barangay chairmen while 12 were bets for barangay kagawad.

Meanwhile, six bets for SK chairperson and 14 vying for SK kagawad were also disqualified.

Those disqualified ran in Quezon City, Taguig City, and Marikina City, as well as the provinces of Cavite, Batangas, Tarlac, Pampanga, Masbate, Iloilo, Surigao del Norte, Bukidnon, Northern Samar, Laguna, Maguindanao del Norte, Rizal, Bulacan, and Oriental Mindoro. (PNA)