Cavite Spartans to face San Juan Predators in online chess semis

By Jean Malanum

November 30, 2023, 7:39 pm

<p>Alexis Emil Maribao of the Cavite Spartans <em>(Contributed photo)</em></p>

Alexis Emil Maribao of the Cavite Spartans (Contributed photo)

MANILA – The Cavite Spartans defeated the Manila Indio Bravos, 14.5-6.5, to reach the Northern Division semifinals of the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) online tournament played on on Wednesday night.

The Spartans scored 4.5 points in the blitz game coming from the victories of Grandmaster Aleksey Sorokin (Board 2), Woman International Master Bernadette Galas (Board 3), Alexis Emil Maribao (Board 5), and Ricky Batcho (Board 6), and a draw by FIDE Master Carlos Edgardo Garma (Board 4).

In the rapid game, Sorokin, Galas, Batcho, and Maribao had two points each while GM Rogelio "Joey" Antonio Jr. (Board 4) and Aena GM Voltaire Marc Paraguya (Board 7) had one point apiece as Cavite prevailed, 10-4.

Cavite also ruled the second leg, 13-8, escaping with a 4-3 win in the blitz game and carving out a 9-5 triumph in the rapid game. Sorokin, WIM Marie Antoinette San Diego, and Renie Malupa delivered one point each while Salcedo and Antonio halved their points in the blitz game.

Cavite Spartans will face the San Juan Predators on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Laguna-PECA downed Isabela Knights of Alexander in the Armageddon tie-breaker match, 2-1. Isabela won the first set match, 11-9, but Laguna topped the second set match, 15-6, to force the tie-breaker.

Laguna-PECA will meet the Pasig City King Pirates in the semis.

In the Southern division, Davao Durianburg Stallions outclassed RCM Cebu Niños, 15.5-5.5, to arrange a meeting with Toledo-Xignex Trojans.

Surigao Fianchetto Checkmates, on the other hand, subdued Mindoro Tamaraws, 2-1, in the Armageddon tie-breaker to advance against Iloilo Kisela Knights.

Surigao won the 1st set, 16-5, but Mindoro fought back in the second set, 14-7, to force the tie-break.

The PCAP is headed by Paul Elauria as president. Its other officers are Michael Angelo Ong Chua (chairman), Arnel Batungbakal (treasurer), and Jojo Buenaventura (technical committee chairman). The league is supported by San Miguel Corp., Ayala Land, Buenaviel, and PCWorx and sanctioned by the Games and Amusement Board chaired by Richard Clarin. (PNA)