DBM releases P55.65M to improve MSU-Marawi’s education facilities

By Ruth Abbey Gita-Carlos

January 4, 2024, 9:15 am

<p>DBM Secretary Amenah Pangandaman <em>(File photo)</em></p>

DBM Secretary Amenah Pangandaman (File photo)

MANILA – The Department of Budget and Management (DBM) has granted Mindanao State University (MSU) in Marawi City around PHP55.65 million to improve its education facilities.

In a statement on Thursday, the DBM said Budget Secretary Amenah Pangandaman has approved the release of the Special Allotment Release Order (SARO), amounting to PHP55.65 million to cover the construction of a three-story Student Center Building at MSU-Marawi.

“The three-story Student Center Building, which has an allocated area of 1,850 square meters, will serve as a venue for the promotion, development, and implementation of various student-related programs and activities of the University,” the DBM said.

The DBM said the implementation of the Locally-Funded Project (LFP) will be chargeable against MSU-Marawi’s built-in appropriations under the Fiscal Year 2023 General Appropriations Act.

Pangandaman said the release of funds for the improvement of MSU’s education facilities is vital in creating a conducive learning environment for the Filipino learners.

“Tulad po ng lagi kong sinasabi (As I always say), our youth are the torchbearers of our future. That is why it’s important that we support them by providing the necessary equipment and facilities,” she said.

The DBM has also allotted around PHP154.192 million in the 2024 national budget for the Free Higher Education (FHE) Program in MSU-Marawi.

In December last year, the DBM also approved the release of PHP334.24 million for the creation of additional 673 permanent faculty positions in nine campuses of the MSU.

The approved faculty posts were determined and funded based on the recommended faculty-student ratio.

From a one campus university in Marawi City, MSU has grown to a multi-campus university of eight autonomous campuses–MSU-Main in Marawi City, MSU-IIT in Iligan City, MSU-TCTO in Tawi-Tawi, MSU-Naawan in Misamis Oriental, MSU-Maguindanao, MSU-General Santos, MSU-Sulu in Jolo and MSU Buug in Zamboanga Sibugay. (PNA)