Davao gov’t to send aid to 15 LGUs under state of calamity

By Che Palicte

February 14, 2024, 5:08 pm

DAVAO CITY – The city government is set to extend financial assistance to 15 local government units in the Davao and Caraga regions placed under a state of calamity due to the recent occurrences of natural disasters.

Alfredo Baloran, City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (CDRRMO) head, said they have secured the needed documents and respective declarations of state of calamity from the areas where they will extend financial aid.

“The financial assistance will be delivered once it is ready,” Baloran said in an interview on Wednesday.

On Feb. 6, the Sangguniang Panlungsod approved PHP6.1 million from the city’s Quick Response Fund to extend financial assistance for two Davao provinces, one city, and 12 municipalities.

In Davao Region, the provinces that are set to receive aid of PHP1 million each are Davao del Norte and Davao de Oro while PHP500,000 will be given to Tagum City in Davao del Norte.

The municipalities that will receive PHP300,000 each include Kapalong, New Corella, Sto. Tomas, Carmen, and Braulio E. Dujali in Davao del Norte; Lupon, Cateel, and Tarragona in Davao Oriental.

In Caraga, the towns that will receive help from this city include Santa Josefa, Veruela, Loreto, and Bunawan in Agusan del Sur. (PNA)