MANILA – President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has appointed Jovy Bernabe as acting head and chief executive officer of the Philippine Crop Insurance Corp. (PCIC), Malacañang announced on Thursday.

Bernabe was included in the list of 23 newly appointed government officials released by the Presidential Communications Office (PCO) on its official Facebook page.

Bernabe will also serve as a member of the PCIC Board of Directors.

This is not the first time Bernabe will lead the PCIC, having previously served as the president of the agency under the Duterte administration.

In February 2023, Bernabe was tapped as acting member of the Local Water Utilities Administration's Board of Trustees.

Bernabe also became the deputy executive director of the National Agricultural and Fishery Council and board secretary of the Sugar Regulatory Administration.

The PCIC, a government-owned and -controlled corporation, is mandated to provide insurance protection to farmers against losses arising from natural calamities, plant diseases, and pest infestations of their palay and corn crops, as well as other crops.

It also provides protection against damage to or loss of non-crop agricultural assets, including but not limited to machinery, equipment, transport facilities, and related infrastructures.

Other appointees

Malacañang also released the latest appointments in several agencies, including the PCO, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), and Department of Transportation (DOTr).

Perla Leoncio joined the PCO holding the position of Director IV, while Agaton Teodoro Uvero was named DTI Assistant Secretary.

Marcos also named Marlon Alagao and Glenda Relova as assistant secretaries of the DSWD, Aldrine Fermin as Director IV, and Youssef Kahlil Velasco as Director III.

New DPWH appointees were Reynaldo Alconcel who holds the Director IV post, and Jonathan Araullo and Editha Babaran who both serve as Director III.

Joshua Pablito was appointed Director IV of the DOTr; Joel Consulta as Director III; Eduardo de Guzman, Nasser Ibrahim, Ronnie Montejo, Romeo Solomon Sergio Sales, and Melharrieh Tomawis as Director II; and Eric Suriben as Director I.

Abraham Mendoza was designated as acting member of the Poro Point Management Corp.'s Board of Directors, while Teodo Bonifacio Jr. was tapped as administrator of the Land Registration Authority.

Marcos placed Gregory Cayetano at the Office of Civil Defense, serving as Director II.

Lester Añonuevo and John Dominic Zafe were both appointed as Director IV at the Public-Private Partnership Center of the Philippines. (PNA)